Construction Ireland Construction Directory
Time and date
Share this page
Construction News

New Members Appointed To The Climate Change Advisory Council

Construction News Image
The Government has appointed three new members to the Climate Change Advisory Council (CCAC).

These new members will assist the council in its activities, including advising ministers and government on climate policy, conducting annual and periodic reviews of progress in furthering the achievement of the national climate objective as well as proposing carbon budgets to the Minister of the Environment, Climate and Communications.

The three new members appointed are:

Professor Yvonne Buckley

Professor Yvonne Buckley is an ecologist and Professor of Zoology at Trinity College Dublin. She is Co-Director of the Climate + Biodiversity and Water Co-Centre, Co-Chair of the All-Island Climate and Biodiversity Research Network, Senior Editor of Journal of Ecology, a member of the National Carbon Budgets Working Group (CCAC) and a member of both the Royal Irish Academy and Academia Europaea. Professor Buckley is currently involved in research at the intersection of climate change, climate action and biodiversity conservation and restoration.

-- Advertisement --

Professor Buckley has been appointed for a period of five years.

Professor Liam Delaney

Professor Liam Delaney is Professor and Head of the Department of Psychological and Behavioural Science at the London School of Economics. He has published widely on psychology and economic decision-making. He was previously Professor of Economics at UCD and Professor of Economics at Stirling University where he developed the behavioural science programme. He has held visiting positions at Sydney and Princeton Universities and has been a Fulbright and Marie-Sklodowska fellow.

Professor Delaney has been appointed for a period of three years.

Professor Edgar Morgenroth

Professor Edgar Morgenroth is Full Professor of Economics in DCU Business School, Dublin City University, Dublin, Ireland. He has held positions at the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI), the Strategic Investment Board in Northern Ireland (SIBNI) and Keele University. He also served two terms on the National Economic and Social Council (NESC) and was a board member of the Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland (SEAI). He is a Fellow of the UK Academy of Social Sciences and a Fellow of the Regional Studies Association.

Professor Morgenroth has been appointed for a period of three years.

The Minister for the Environment, Climate and Communications, Eamon Ryan, said: "At the outset, I would like to express my thanks to the outgoing members of the Council for their contribution and commitment, firstly to Sinead O’Brien, and also to Professor Ottmar Edenhofer and Professor John Fitzgerald who both served on the council since its initiation. I would like to offer a special word of thanks to Professor Fitzgerald for his valuable contribution as the first chairperson of the council.

"I also wish to welcome the new members to the council, each bringing their unique experience and expertise which I have no doubt will enrich the council skillset and play a key role in advising on our transition to a climate resilient, sustainable and climate neutral economy."

Latest Construction News


GRAHAM has completed a £15 million refurbishment of the Europa Hotel in Belfast which spanned across five years. The refurbishment of the Hotel's business suite included substantial upgrades to the 12th-floor penthouse suite and seven meeting rooms. GRAHAM led the refurbishment of numerous guest ...

Gas Networks Ireland has announced that Irish Tar & Bitumen Suppliers Ltd (Irish Tar) is the first company in its industry to switch to a combination of both natural and renewable gas. Making the change from heavy fuel oil (HFO) to gas will significantly reduce the company's carbon emissions by ...

Sinn Féin has called for changes to the Defect Concrete Block Grant Scheme to provide upfront grant payments to homeowners to commence remediation works. The party's spokesperson on Finance, Pearse Doherty TD, has called for the Minister for Housing to make the changes to the 'failing' scheme. Mr ...

Gavin Lawlor, President of the Irish Planning Institute, has said that planners must ensure that the Planning and Development Bill going through the Oireachtas, is suitable for the long term. Mr Lawlor stated that planners should ensure that the bill doesn't slow the legislative process down as he ...

System Operator for Northern Ireland (SONI) welcomed the Minister for the Economy, Conor Murphy, to its control centre in Belfast this week where he voiced the importance of innovation in renewable energy. During his visit, the Minister engaged with SONI's team of grid control engineers, who ...

The Construction Employers Federation (CEF) has met with Northern Ireland Executive Ministers to engage directly on the industry's behalf. During a meeting with the Infrastructure Minister, John O'Dowd MLA said that the Department for Infrastructure is positioning itself as the enabling department ...

Limerick's H&MV Engineering has scooped the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Horizon Award at a ceremony in Dublin. H&MV Engineering was awarded for its design and construction solutions across data centres, wind farms and solar and battery projects. In its second year, the AWS Horizon Award sets out to ...

The Department for Infrastructure (DfI) has announced that a £381,000 carriageway and footway resurfacing scheme on B177 Dromore Road, Royal Hillsborough is set to begin. The scheme which commences on Monday 22 April 2024 will cover a stretch of 1200 metres to the Edentrillick Road junction and ...

Ms Mona O'Rourke has been appointed as lead facilitator for the National Monuments Service's new Brú na Bóinne Community Heritage Forum. The forum will empower the community to be more involved in making decisions about the management, presentation, interpretation and conservation of the site and ...

A public information event for the A29 Cookstown Bypass Scheme has been held by the Department for Infrastructure (DfI) in Cookstown. Chair of the Mid Ulster District Council Councillor Dominic Molloy, Chief Executive Adrian McCreesh, local Councillors, members of the Mid South West Growth Deal ...
Materials Market LtdNorthwest Drilling ServicesMaterials Market LtdMaterials Market LtdToner Damp Proofing SuppliesMcHale Plant Sales LtdDavid Grogan Safety TrainingCosy Kingdom LTDFITACAttic Floors & Ladders
Terms and Conditions
2024/04/20 20:08:01